©Frank van Wijk, Bergen NH, April/May 2000
|Prestant 8’||Holpijp 8’|
|Octaaf 4’||Salicionaal 8’|
|Quint 3’||Roerfluit 4’|
|Cornet (treble) IV|
|Compass manual: C-f’’’|
|Compass pedal: C-c’|
This is a stop list for a one-manual instrument. The arrangement of the stops (Diapason chorus + Cornet on Hoofdwerk / Flutes + soft string stop on Bovenwerk) was characteristic of the smaller Flaes-organs. Similar instruments can be found in Kwadijk (Hervormde Kerk,1866) and Beets (Hervormde Kerk, 1868).
History and description
The organ of the ‘Doopsgezinde Kerk’ on Koningsweg was built in 1866 by Pieter Flaes & Diederich Brünjes, organ-builders who gained their experience in the organ-factory of Bätz & Witte in Utrecht. In 1819 Johannes Christoffel Deytenbach placed a cabinet-organ in this church for which he made a 4-foot organ-front; the 8-foot Flaes & Brünjes-organ was built behind this ‘camouflage’-front. For this reason the wind-chests had to be placed perpendicular to the front, which resulted in a relatively deep organ-case.
Restorations and changes to the instrument were carried out in 1924 and 1951 by the organ-builders Vermeulen (Alkmaar) and a repair was carried out in 1973 by Adema (Amsterdam).